Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Kids Voice Over Camp: ORIGINS (OKCJul21)

July 5 @ 6:00 pm - July 8 @ 8:00 pm EDT

$295.00

Online Class!!
4 x 2 hour interactive sessions on Monday through Thursday taught by Dana Negrey on Zoom with a maximum of 6 participants, with additional exercises and scripts to work on by themselves. Each session will start at 6pm Eastern (3pm Pacific, 4pm Mountain, 7pm Atlantic — PLEASE NOTE that this is Daylight Savings Time and confirm your local start time accordingly.).

This is a basic introductory class focused on preparing kids for VO work. It is aimed at kids aged 8 years and older.

Using commercial work and characterisation exercises, we will focus on important essential skills, including:

  • Warm ups
  • Basic character work
  • Performance technique
  • Being your natural self in an unnatural situation
  • Script work (interpretation and development)
  • Mic techniques
  • Studio etiquette, to enable them to work like a professional

As this is a performance-based class, they do not necessarily need a home studio. If they have something like a broom handle that they can pretend is a microphone, that is fine. You do need at least a computer or tablet with a camera and a built in microphone so that we can see and hear what the student is doing. We do not recommend using a smartphone for Zoom classes.

All work is done “on mic”, but not recorded to allow the participants to try, play, and make mistakes, and not worry about “getting it right”.

During Session 3 we do a “Performance Presentation” which is like a studio workout. In the workout we will allow each participant to record via Zoom on their own computer. In the recording they will see/hear what they have done, as well as get feedback from the coach that they can watch later.

Session 4 is more for the parents. (But kids are encouraged to participate as well.) We will discuss: an inexpensive basic home studio to help the voice artist to practice and start to prepare for auditions; the dos and don’ts of the industry with respect to kids; getting a demo and what should be on it; and where to look for work, traditionally and now.

We will also spend a fair bit of time on auditions: how to do them, what to expect, and the best way to prepare.

Class fee: $295 + tax

Details

Start:
July 5 @ 6:00 pm EDT
End:
July 8 @ 8:00 pm EDT
Cost:
$295.00
Event Categories:
,

Venue

Online via Zoom

Organizer

Dana Negrey

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available